skip navigation

Eight USHL Alumni Among Hobey Baker Award Finalists

03/20/2019, 12:30pm CDT

8 of the 10 finalists for the top award in college hockey played in the USHL.

Eight USHL alumni were named among the 10 finalists for the 2019 Hobey Baker Award, the honor given to the nation's top college hockey player.


The 10 finalists were selected by voting from all 60 Division I head coaches and by online fan balloting. Next, the 27-member selection committee and an additional round of fan balloting through the Hobey Baker website at through Mar. 31 will determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner.


The Hobey Baker Award is awarded annually to top NCAA men's ice hockey player in the nation. In addition to their performance on the ice, candidates must exhibit strength and character on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of the team, display outstanding skills in all phases of the game and show scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.


The Hobey Baker Hat Trick Finalists will be announced on Apr. 4 while the 2019 Hobey Baker Award will be presented on Apr. 12 as part of the Frozen Four Weekend in Buffalo, NY.


10 USHL alumni have won the prestigious award, including seven times in the past eight years. Former Cedar Rapids RoughRiders and Northeastern University forward, and current Vancouver Canucks prospect Adam Gaudette was the winner of the 2018 Hobey Baker Award.


USHL Alumni - Hobey Baker Winners

2018 - Adam Gaudette, Northeastern University (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, 2014-15)

2017 - Will Butcher, University of Denver (Dubuque Fighting Saints/Team USA, 2010-13)

2015 – Jack Eichel, Boston University (Team USA, 2012-14)

2014 – Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2010-11)

2013 – Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State University (Chicago Steel, 2006-08)

2012 – Jack Connolly, University of Minnesota-Duluth (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2007-08)

2011 – Andy Miele, Miami University (Chicago Steel/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, 2005-08)

2006 – Matt Carle, University of Denver (Omaha Lancers, 2002-03)

2005 – Marty Sertich, Colorado College (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2001-02)

2003 – Peter Sejna, Colorado College (Des Moines Buccaneers, 1998-2000)


Below are the eight USHL alumni named as finalists for the 2019 Hobey Baker Award:

Name NCAA Team USHL Team
Joe Duszak Mercyhurst University Chicago Steel
Adam Fox Harvard University Team USA
Quinn Hughes University of Michigan Team USA
Mason Jobst Ohio State University Muskegon Lumberjacks
Patrick Newell St. Cloud State University Indiana Ice
Chase Priskie Quinnipiac University Fargo Force
Jimmy Schuldt St. Cloud State University Omaha Lancers
Nico Sturm Clarkson University Tri-City Storm

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 17th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2018-19. The USHL had a record 45 players selected at the 2018 NHL Draft, more than any junior league in the world, and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Player News