skip navigation

Chicago Steel Secure First Anderson Cup

04/01/2020, 8:45am CDT

Award Comes After 41-7-1-0 Regular Season Record

The United States Hockey League (USHL) announced Tuesday the Chicago Steel as Anderson Cup Champions for the 2019-20 season. The USHL’s Anderson Cup is annually awarded to the team with the best regular-season point total. This season the Chicago Steel clinched their first Anderson Cup in team history after finishing with a 41-7-1-0 record through 49 games in a season shortened by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The Steel, who were celebrating their 20th season in the USHL, finished the 2019-20 regular season on their second 13-game winning streak of the season and set franchise records in wins (41) and points (83). 

Chicago’s pair of 13-game winning streaks this season marked the first time in league history that a team registered multiple double-digit win streaks. The Steel were also closing in on previous league records for wins (47) and points (98) with 13 games remaining in their schedule. 

Chicago’s 41 wins this season marks the 11th-straight USHL season that has featured at least one team with 40-or-more wins. 

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 18th season as the nation’s only Tier I junior hockey league in 2019-20. The USHL had 55 players selected at the 2019 NHL Draft, and more than 800 alumni are currently on NCAA Division I rosters, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story