skip navigation

USHL Claims Hobey Baker Award & 23 Alumni Win National Championship

04/10/2021, 10:30pm CDT

Cole Caufield (University of Wisconsin / USA Hockey NTDP) Wins Hobey Baker; 23 Alumni on University of Massachusetts Squad Wins It All

The NCAA announced Friday that University of Wisconsin sophomore forward Cole Caufield won the Hobey Baker Award, awarded annually to the top NCAA men's ice hockey player. Caufield is a former USA Hockey National Team Development Program (NTDP) forward who played two seasons in the USHL (2017-19), racking up 74 points (52-22-74) in 60 league games. 

Caufield is the 14th USHL alumnus to win the Hobey Baker Award, second in-a-row (Scott Perunovich, 2019-20), and fourth in the last five seasons (Adam Gaudette, 2017-18; Will Butcher, 2016-17). Caufield, who is currently a forward with Laval Rocket (AHL), is the fifth of 14 USHL winners to play for the NTDP and first since Butcher's win. 

Caufield, who had 52 points (30-22-52) in 31 games this season with Wisconsin, was part of the regular season Big Ten championship squad and was also named Big Ten Player of the Year before earning a spot on the conference's First Team. The Stevens Point, Wis. native also earned a spot on the Big Ten All-Tournament Team and won a Gold Medal with Team USA at the World Juniors before earning an NCAA West First Team All-American honor. 

In two seasons with the University of Wisconsin, Caufield tallied 88 points (49-39-88) in 87 games. On the same night he won the Hobey Baker Award, Caufield made his professional hockey debut with Laval as he scored a pair of goals and notched an assist in a three-point night (2-1-3). Caufield was drafted by the Montreal Canadiens in the 2019 NHL Draft (Round 1, #15 Overall). 

Name Position NCAA Team Season USHL Team (Season)
Cole Caufield F University of Wisconsin 2020-21 USA Hockey NTDP (2017-19)
Scott Perunovich D University of Minnesota Duluth 2019-20 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders (2016-17)
Adam Gaudette F Northeastern University 2017-18 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders (2014-15)
Will Butcher D Denver University 2016-17 Dubuque Fighting Saints (2010-11) & USA Hockey NTDP (2011-13)
Jack Eichel F Boston University 2014-15 USA Hockey NTDP (2012-14)
Johnny Gaudreau F Boston College 2013-14 Dubuque Fighting Saints (2010-11)
Drew LeBlanc F St. Cloud State University 2012-13 Chicago Steel (2006-08)
Jack Connolly F University of Minnesota Duluth 2011-12 Sioux Falls Stampede (2007-08)
Andy Miele F Miami University 2010-111 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders (2005-07) & Chicago Steel (2006-08)
Matt Carle D Denver University 2005-06 USA Hockey NTDP (2001-02) & River City Lancers (2002-03)
Marty Sertich F Colorado College 2004-05 Sioux Falls Stampede (2001-02)
Peter Sejna F Colorado College 2002-03 Des Moines Buccaneers (1998-00)
Jordan Leopold D University of Minnesota 2001-02 USA Hockey NTDP (1997-98)
Tony Hrkac F University of North Dakota 1986-87 Madison Capitols Assistant Coach (2014-15)

UMass Wins National Championship

On Saturday night, University of Massachusetts won its first NCAA National Championship in program history with a 5-0 win over St. Cloud State University. In doing so, 23 players and coaches with ties to the USHL were named NCAA Champions. Associate Head Coach Jared DeMichiel, along with Volunteer Assistant Coaches Ryan Bliss and Nolan Gluchowski, were behind the bench for the Championship while 20 players got things done on the ice including goaltender Matthew Murray; defensemen Linden AlgerAaron Bohlinger, Gianfranco Cassaro, Marc Del Gaizo, Ty Farmer, Colin Felix, Zachary Jones and Matt Kessel; as well as forwards Anthony Del Gaizo, Carson Gicewicz, Jerry Harding, Calen Kiefiuk, Reed Lebster, Josh Lopina, Oliver MacDonald, George Mika, Ryan Sullivan, Bobby Trivigno and Garrett Wait. Marc Del Gaizo and Bobby Trivigno served as Alternate Captains for the Minutemen this season. 

USHL Alumni Account for 16 All-Americans

All-American First Team West

Ronnie Attard (Defenseman, Western Michigan University)
Cam York (Defenseman, University of Michigan)
Cole Caufield (Forward, University of Wisconsin)
Shane Pinto (Forward, University of North Dakota)
Sampo Ranta (Forward, University of Minnesota)

All-American First Team East

Spencer Knight (Goaltender, Boston College)
David Farrance (Defenseman, Boston University)
Matthew Boldy (Forward, Boston College)
Bobby Trivigno (Forward, University of Massachusetts)
Odeen Tufto (Forward, Quinnipiac University)

All-American Second Team West

Dryden McKay (Goaltender, Minnesota State University)
Matt Kiersted (Defenseman, University of North Dakota)
Jackson LaCombe (Defenseman, University of Minnesota)
Linus Weissbach (Forward, University of Wisconsin)

All-American Second Team East

Drew Helleson (Defenseman, Boston College)
Zachary Jones (Defenseman, University of Massachusetts)

USHL alumni accounted for 16 of the 24 AHCA/CCM Hockey Men's Division IJ All-Americans including five of the six First Team All-Americans in both the West and East. 

The USHL now has 152 all-time First Team All-Americans and 157 Second Team All-Americans. In the West, the USHL has produced at least one First Team All-American for 11-straight seasons and 26 of the last 27 seasons. In the East, this was the 19th-straight season with at least one First Team honoree. 

USHL Alumni Win Coach of the Year and Rookie of the Year

Mike Hastings, the Head Coach at Minnesota State University, was named the 2021 Spencer Penrose Coach of the Year. Hastings played two seasons in the USHL (1984-86) with the Austin Mavericks and Rochester Mustangs and served as an Assistant Coach for the Omaha Lancers during the 1992-93 season before serving as the General Manager and Head Coach for the Omaha/River City Lancers for 14 seasons (1994-08). Hastings won the USHL Clark Cup in 1992-93 with Lancers and was named USHL General Manager of the Year five times (1996-97, 2001-02, 2004-05, 2006-07, 2007-08) as well as USHL Coach of the Year twice (1996-97, 2001-02). The Spencer Penrose Trophy win was Hastings' second of his career and first since the 2014-15 season. Hastings is also a four-time winner of the WCHA Coach of the Year award, including this season.

Thomas Bordeleau, a first year forward for the University of Michigan, won the 2021 Tim Taylor Rookie of the Year award. Bordeleau was a forward for the NTDP for the previous two seasons (2018-20) where he registered 40 points (17-23-40) in 53 games. This season with Michigan, Bordeleau registered 30 points (8-22-30) in 24 games for the Wolverines en route to earning a spot on the Big Ten All-Rookie Team, All-Big Ten Second Team and being named Big Ten Rookie of the Year. The forward is a San Jose Sharks prospect after being drafted during the 2020 NHL Draft (Round 2, #38 Overall). 

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the 2020-21 season will be the USHL's 19th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league. The USHL had 51 players selected at the 2020 NHL Draft, marking the third-straight season with 50-or-more USHL players selected in the Draft. More than 800 league alumni are currently on NCAA Division I rosters, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story