skip navigation

16 USHL Players on 2022 Hlinka Gretzky Cup Rosters

06/29/2022, 3:00pm CDT

15 for United States, 1 for Finland, Plus Nine Staff Leading United States

The United States Hockey League (USHL) announced Thursday a total of 15 ties across the United States and Finland at the 2022 Hlinka Gretzky Cup in Red Deer, Alberta from July 31-August 6, 2022. 

The 2022 United States roster features 15 players who have appeared in the USHL, including 2022 Clark Cup Champion Ty Hanson (Defenseman, Sioux City Musketeers, 2021-22) and USHL All-Rookie First Team member Andrew Strathmann (Defenseman, Tri-City Storm, 2021-22). 

“The United States Hockey League is well represented at the upcoming, prestigious Hlinka Gretzky Cup starting on July 31 in Red Deer, Alberta,” said USHL President and Commissioner Bill Robertson. “It is a tribute and credit to the outstanding overall talent in the USHL. We thank our partners at USA Hockey for their support of our League and USHL involvement in the tournament. Our players, coaches and support staff will be showcased on a world stage and it should be exciting to watch later this summer.” 

Fellow defensemen Joe Gramer (Des Moines Buccaneers, 2021-22), Charlie Kinsman (Tri-City Storm, 2021-22) and Zack Sharp (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2021-22) join Hanson and Strathmann, as does Gavin McCarthy (Muskegon Lumberjacks, 2021-22), the younger brother of former USA Hockey National Team Development Program (NTDP) player Case McCarthy, who played for the NTDP from 2017-19 and was Drafted by the New Jersey Devils in 2019 (Round 4, #118 Overall). Lucas St. Louis (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2021-22) will also patrol the blueline for the United States and is the son of 16-year NHL veteran and current Montreal Canadiens Head Coach Martin St. Louis. Lucas' older brother Ryan St. Louis played for the NTDP from 2019-21 and currently plays for Northeaster University. 

The forward group consists of USHL forwards Tanner Adams (Tri-City Storm), Connor Brown (Waterloo Black Hawks), Mikey Burchill (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Griffin Erdman (Waterloo Black Hawks), Andrew Kuzma (Des Moines Buccaneers), Will McDonough (Sioux Falls Stampede), Ryan Smith (Tri-City Storm) and Will Whitelaw (Youngstown Phantoms), who all played in the league last season. 

The United States Staff will consist of Head Coach Anthony Noreen (Tri-City Storm President of Hockey Operations and Head Coach, 2019-22) as well as Assistant Coaches Matt Curley (Des Moines Buccaneers Head Coach, 2021-22), Michael Leone (Green Bay Gamblers General Manager and Head Coach, 2022-23) and Tom Upton (Madison Capitols Head Coach, 2020-22). Goaltending Coach Steven Thompson (Sioux City Musketeers Goaltender, 2007-09) will also join the staff, as will General Manager Marc Boxer (Des Moines Buccaneers Forward, 1989-91), Player Personnel Staff Lyrrad “Rod” Braceful (NTDP Assistant Director of Player Personnel, 2018-21) and Tony Gasparini (Sioux Falls Stampede General Manager and Vice President of Hockey Operations, 2022-23). Equipment Manager Patrick Dooley (Muskegon Lumberjacks Equipment Manager, 2016-21) will also join the United States at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup. 

The USHL will also be represented on Finland's roster by forward Emil Jarventie (Muskegon Lumberjacks, 2021-22). 

The United States will compete in Group B alongside Czechia, Finland and Germany. Preliminary-Round play within the Groups will determine the top seeds who will advance to the Semifinals on August 5 before the Third Place and Championship games set for August 6. 

United States Schedule

vs. Slovakia (Friday, July 29 at 1 p.m. ET) [Pre-Tournament Matchup]
vs. Germany (Sunday, July 31 at 5 p.m. ET) 
vs. Finland (Monday, August 1 at 5 p.m. ET) 
vs. Czechia (Wednesday, August 3 at 1 p.m. ET) 
Semifinals (Friday, August 5 at 7 p.m. and 10:30 p.m. ET) 
Third Place Game (Saturday, August 6 at 2 p.m. ET) 
Championship Game (Saturday, August 6 at 6 p.m. ET) 

The roster is seeking the United States’ second win at the event, with the lone win coming in 2003. The United States has appeared in nine Championship games all-time.

Tag(s): Top Story