skip navigation

USHL Alumni Highlight Hobey Baker Finalists

03/20/2014, 12:00pm CDT
By bwerger

Four of five USHL graduates on the list are NHL Draft picks

The ten finalists for the prestigious Hobey Baker Award, presented annually to the top player in men’s college hockey, have been announced and among the group are five alumni of the USHL.

The winner of the award in each of the last three seasons has been a graduate of the USHL and six total former players of the League have won the Hobey Baker trophy.  Johnny Gaudreau (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2010-11) is a finalist for the second consecutive season after leading the nation in scoring with 69 points (32g, 37a) in 37 games for Boston College.

USHL Alumni Among Hobey Baker Awards Finalists

Nic Dowd (F), St. Cloud State University

The senior captain led his team in scoring with 39 points (21g, 18a) in 36 games and helped them capture the NCHC regular season title.  He was an All-NCHC First Team selection.  He spent the 2009-10 season in the USHL with the Indiana Ice and put up 39 points (16g, 23a) in 46 games while also recording a plus-20 rating.  Dowd was selected by the Los Angeles Kings in the seventh round (198th overall) of the 2009 NHL Draft.

Ryan Dzingel (F), Ohio State University

The junior led his team and was 12th nationally in scoring with 43 points (20g, 23a) in 34 games.  He was the scoring champion of the Big Ten Conference.  He played two seasons in the USHL with the Lincoln Stars, recording 93 points (34g, 59a) in 90 regular season contests in the League.  He was fifth overall in USHL scoring during the 2010-11 season with 67 points (23g, 44a) in 54 games and would then go on to be selected by the Ottawa Senators in the seventh round (204th overall) of the 2011 NHL Draft.

Johnny Gaudreau (F), Boston College

The nation’s top scorer with 69 points (32g, 37a) in 37 games had a Hockey East record-tying 31-game point streak this season as a junior.  He helped lead the Dubuque Fighting Saints to the Clark Cup title during the 2010-11 season and earned USHL Rookie of the Year honors when he put up 72 points (36g, 36a) in 60 regular season games.  A few weeks later, he was selected by the Calgary Flames in the fourth round (104th overall) of the 2011 NHL Draft.

C.J. Motte (G), Ferris State University

The junior led all NCAA goaltenders with 26 wins this season and helped his school capture the WCHA regular season title.  His .928 SV% is 10th in the nation while he has also posted a 2.19 GAA.  He spent two seasons in the USHL with the Waterloo Black Hawks, accumulating a 36-32-5 overall record with a 2.84 GAA, .909 SV%, and five shutouts.  His .920 SV% during the 2010-11 season was ranked tied for fifth among USHL goaltenders. 

Adam Wilcox (G), University of Minnesota

The sophomore earned Big Ten Conference Player of the Year and backstopped the Gophers to the #1 ranking in the nation.  He posted a 23-4-6 overall record and ranked third in the NCAA with a 1.91 GAA and tied for second with a .934 SV%.  As a rookie in the USHL, he earned a 16-6-1 record for the Green Bay Gamblers and was third in both GAA (2.20) and SV% (.920) before going on to be selected by the Tampa Bay Lightning in the sixth round (178th overall) of the 2011 NHL Draft.  He returned to the USHL for a second season and compiled a 23-19-1 record split between Green Bay and the Tri-City Storm.

The Hobey Baker Award  finalists were selected by voting of NCAA Division I head coaches and through online fan ballots.  A selection committee will determine the top three finalists to be announced on April 2nd before the winner of the award is announced on April 11th.

USHL Alumni Hobey Baker Award Winners

2013 – Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State University (Chicago Steel, 2006-08)

2012 – Jack Connolly, University of Minnesota-Duluth (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2007-08)

2011 – Andy Miele, Miami University (Chicago Steel/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, 2005-08)

2006 – Matt Carle, University of Denver (Omaha Lancers, 2002-03)

2005 – Marty Sertich, Colorado College (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2001-02)

2003 – Peter Sejna, Colorado College (Des Moines Buccaneers, 1998-2000)


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 12th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2013-14.  A record 32 players were chosen in the 2013 NHL Draft and more than 300 players on team rosters last season have committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.  For more information, visit us on the web at or visit the League’s social media platforms, including Facebook (, twitter (, and YouTube (  Fans can also watch USHL action all season long, live or on-demand via FASTHockey (

It’s not just hockey. It’s the USHL.

Tag(s): Top Story