skip navigation

Lumberjacks Captain Commits to Ohio State University

10/14/2014, 10:30am CDT

Muskegon Lumberjacks forward Mason Jobst has committed to play collegiate hockey at Ohio State University beginning next season.

The Muskegon Lumberjacks announced that forward Mason Jobst has committed to play collegiate hockey at Ohio State University beginning next season.

“The campus is beautiful, the facilities are top-notch, and the coaching staff was great in making me feel comfortable and right at home when I made my official visit to the school,” shared Jobst.  “Being from Indiana, my ultimate goal was to play hockey in the Big Ten Conference after watching many Indiana University basketball games growing up.  I couldn’t have asked for anything else (from Ohio State), and I feel excited and relieved to choose such a great school while being able to focus back on trying to win a championship this season in Muskegon.”

Jobst has put up six points (2g, 4a) in seven games this season for the Lumberjacks.  He netted two goals over the weekend as Muskegon split a two-game series with the Lincoln Stars.  The 20-year-old forward is in his fourth season with the Lumberjacks and second as captain of the team.  He was second on the team in scoring last year with 45 points (10g, 35a) in 49 games.  Over his USHL career, Jobst has produced 87 points (21g, 66a) in 154 career regular season contests.  The Speedway, Indiana native first broke into the League during the 2010-11 season as he played two games for Team USA.

He is joined by Lumberjacks teammate Michael Latorella who is also committed to Ohio State University.  Nine other current USHL players are committed to the school; Tanner Laczynski (Chicago Steel), Michael Davies (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Miguel Fidler (Lincoln Stars), Sam McCormick (Madison Capitols), Bradley Johnson (Omaha Lancers), Dakota Joshua (Sioux Falls Stampede), Tyler Nanne (Sioux Falls Stampede), Gordi Myer (Tri-City Storm), and John Wiitala (Waterloo Black Hawks).

Ohio State University is a member of the Big Ten and has 17 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Darik Angeli (Tri-City/Chicago/Sioux City), Clark Cristofoli (Sioux Falls), Matt Johnson (Tri-City/Waterloo), Alex McLean (Omaha Lancers), Nick Oddo (Omaha/Cedar Rapids), Tyler Lundey (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Anthony Greco (Des Moines/Waterloo), Blake Doerring (Des Moines/Fargo), Nicholas Schilkey (Green Bay Gamblers), Drew Brevig (Sioux Falls Stampede), Dave Gust (Fargo Force), Christian Frey (Dubuque/Tri-City/Des Moines), Matthew Weis (Green Bay Gamblers), Christian Lampasso (Lincoln/Sioux City/Des Moines), Luke Stork (Youngstown Phantoms), Janik Moser (Muskegon Lumberjacks), and Victor Bjorkung (Chicago/Fargo).

USHL stats – Mason Jobst


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 13th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2014-15.  A record 35 players were chosen in the 2014 NHL Draft and more than 300 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.  For more information, visit us on the web at or visit the League’s social media platforms, including Facebook (/ushlhockey), twitter (@USHL), and YouTube (/ushlinteractive).  Fans can also watch USHL action all season long, live or on-demand via FASTHockey (

It’s not just hockey.  It’s the USHL

Tag(s): Top Story