skip navigation

Record USHL Alumni on NHL Opening-Day Rosters

10/07/2015, 10:30am CDT

A record 93 USHL alumni were named to NHL opening-day rosters this morning, an increase of 11 players from last season. 212 USHL alumni are currently signed to NHL contracts.

The National Hockey League announced the league’s 23-man rosters for the 2015-16 season for its 30 member teams. The United States Hockey League has 93 alumni listed on NHL rosters, an increase of 13 players from last season’s opening-day rosters. The Minnesota Wild and San Jose Sharks lead all NHL teams with six USHL alumni on their opening rosters. 212 USHL alumni are currently signed to NHL contracts. The 2015-16 regular season begins tonight with four games.


Team USA leads all USHL teams with 21 former players on NHL rosters. The Cedar Rapids RoughRiders (9), Lincoln Stars (9), Sioux Falls Stampede (8), Des Moines Buccaneers (7), Green Bay Gamblers (6) and Omaha Lancers (6) round out the top of the USHL team list.


USHL alumni Adam Erne (Indiana Ice), Jack Eichel (Team USA), Noah Hanifin (Team USA), Dylan Larkin (Team USA), Derek Forbort (Team USA), and Matt O’Connor (Youngstown Phantoms) will potentially be dressing for their first NHL game.




Name USHL Team NHL Team
Matt Donovan Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Buffalo Sabres
Justin Ablekader Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Detroit Red Wings
Teddy Purcell Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Edmonton Oilers
Alec Martinez Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Los Angeles Kings
Chris Wideman Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Ottawa Senators
Tommy Wingels Cedar Rapids RoughRiders San Jose Sharks
Alex Stalock Cedar Rapids RoughRiders San Jose Sharks
Matt Tennyson Cedar Rapids RoughRiders San Jose Sharks
Tom Gilbert Chicago Steel Montreal Canadiens
Brian O'Neill Chicago Steel New Jersey Devils
John Moore Chicago Steel New Jersey Devils
Connor Brickley Des Moines Buccaneers Florida Panthers
Trevor Lewis Des Moines Buccaneers Los Angeles Kings
Jeff Petry Des Moines Buccaneers Montreal Canadiens
Keith Kinkaid Des Moines Buccaneers New Jersey Devils
Kyle Okposo Des Moines Buccaneers New York Islanders
Alex Chiasson Des Moines Buccaneers Ottawa Senators
Matt Read Des Moines Buccaneers Philadelphia Flyers
Zemgus Girgensons Dubuque Fighting Saints Buffalo Sabres
Johnny Gaudreau Dubuque Fighting Saints Calgary Flames
Christian Folin Fargo Force Minnesota Wild
Nate Schmidt Fargo Force Washington Capitals
Eric Gryba Green Bay Gamblers Edmonton Oilers
Matt Greene Green Bay Gamblers Los Angeles Kings
Ryan Carter Green Bay Gamblers Minnesota Wild
Anders Lee Green Bay Gamblers New York Islanders
Justin Braun Green Bay Gamblers San Jose Sharks
Blake Wheeler Green Bay Gamblers Winnipeg Jets
Torey Krug Indiana Ice Boston Bruins
Scott Darling Indiana Ice Chicago Blackhawks
Anthony Bitetto Indiana Ice Nashville Predators
Adam Erne Indiana Ice Tampa Bay Lightning
John Carlson Indiana Ice Washington Capitals
Jimmy Hayes Lincoln Stars Boston Bruins
Brandon Bollig Lincoln Stars Calgary Flames
Jared Boll Lincoln Stars Columbus Blue Jackets
Chris Porter Lincoln Stars Minnesota Wild
Michael Sdao Lincoln Stars Ottawa Senators
David Backes Lincoln Stars St. Louis Blues
Erik Condra Lincoln Stars Tampa Bay Lightning
Matt Bartkowski Lincoln Stars Vancouver Canucks
Greg Pateryn Ohio Blue Jackets Montreal Canadiens
Martin Hanzal Omaha Lancers Arizona Coyotes
Nathan Gerbe Omaha Lancers Carolina Hurricanes
Drew Miller Omaha Lancers Detroit Red Wings
Patrick Wiercioch Omaha Lancers Ottawa Senators
Paul Stastny Omaha Lancers St. Louis Blues
Matthew Carle Omaha Lancers Tampa Bay Lightning
Danny DeKeyser Sioux City Musketeers Detroit Red Wings
Steven Kampfer Sioux City Musketeers Florida Panthers
Max Pacioretty Sioux City Musketeers Montreal Canadiens
Sam Gagner Sioux City Musketeers Philadelphia Flyers
Jeff Zatkoff Sioux City Musketeers Pittsburgh Penguins
Joe Vitale Sioux Falls Stampede Arizona Coyotes
Brad Malone Sioux Falls Stampede Carolina Hurricanes
Alex Goligoski Sioux Falls Stampede Dallas Stars
Jamie Oleksiak Sioux Falls Stampede Dallas Stars
Thomas Vanek Sioux Falls Stampede Minnesota Wild
Nate Prosser Sioux Falls Stampede Minnesota Wild
Matt Lindblad Sioux Falls Stampede New York Rangers
T.J. Oshie Sioux Falls Stampede Washington Capitals
Connor Murphy Team USA Arizona Coyotes
Jake McCabe Team USA Buffalo Sabres
Jack Eichel Team USA Buffalo Sabres
Justin Faulk Team USA Carolina Hurricanes
Noah Hanifin Team USA Carolina Hurricanes
Brandon Saad Team USA Columbus Blue Jackets
Michael Paliotta Team USA Columbus Blue Jackets
Dylan Larkin Team USA Detroit Red Wings
Rocco Grimaldi Team USA Florida Panthers
Derek Forbort Team USA Los Angeles Kings
Jason Zucker Team USA Minnesota Wild
Jarred Tinordi Team USA Montreal Canadiens
Eric Nystrom Team USA Nashville Predators
Seth Jones Team USA Nashville Predators
Jon Merrill Team USA New Jersey Devils
Stefan Matteau Team USA New Jersey Devils
J.T. Miller Team USA New York Rangers
Matt Nieto Team USA San Jose Sharks
Adam Clendening Team USA Vancouver Canucks
Mark Stuart Team USA Winnipeg Jets
Jacob Trouba Team USA Winnipeg Jets
Patrick Sharp Thunder Bay Flyers Dallas Stars
Jaden Schwartz Tri-City Storm St. Louis Blues
Tim Jackman Twin Cities Vulcans Anaheim Ducks
Craig Smith Waterloo Black Hawks Nashville Predators
Joe Pavelski Waterloo Black Hawks San Jose Sharks
J.T. Brown Waterloo Black Hawks Tampa Bay Lightning
Jiri Sekac Youngstown Phantoms Anaheim Ducks
Matt O'Connor Youngstown Phantoms Ottawa Senators
Andrej Sustr Youngstown Phantoms Tampa Bay Lightning

UPDATE: Richard Bachman (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, Vancouver Canucks) and Chris Vande Velde (Lincoln Stars, Philadelphia Flyers).

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 14th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2015-16.  A record 37 players were chosen in the 2015 NHL Draft and more than 375 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Player News