skip navigation

Ben Foley Commits To Harvard

03/08/2016, 12:15pm CST

Cedar Rapids RoughRiders defenseman Ben Foley announced his commitment to Harvard University.

Photo By Dan Hickling/Hickling Images


Cedar Rapids RoughRiders defenseman Ben Foley announced his commitment to play college hockey at Harvard University following his junior hockey career.


“The mix of academics and hockey are unmatched and it was a really easy choice for me," said Foley. “They've got a great tradition, great coaching staff and it was a no brainer.  It felt like a good fit.”


The 6’1” blueliner from Edina, MN is currently in his first USHL season with the RoughRiders, playing in 48 of 49 games this season. Foley has 13 points, including 11 assists to accompany a +11 rating.


Foley was a 2015 USHL Phase II Draft selection of the RoughRiders in the 10th round, 156th overall after playing three seasons with Edina High School. Foley won back-to-back state championships during the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons with Edina, scoring a combined nine points in 50 games. Playing a larger role for the team in 2014-15, Foley scored 19 points in 25 games for the Hornets.


Cedar Rapids and Foley are currently in first place in the Eastern Conference.


“The RoughRiders organization is very happy for Ben and Harvard University,” said RoughRiders head coach and general manager Mark Carlson. “Harvard is a world-renowned university and hockey program, a great fit on both sides.  Ben has worked very hard to earn this opportunity.”  


Foley joins fellow teammate Matt Gosiewski with the commitment to Harvard, and gives the RoughRiders 20 players currently on their roster with NCAA Division I commitments.  




Matt Gosiewski (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Adam Fox (Team USA), Jack Badini (Lincoln Stars), Mitch Perrault (Omaha Lancers), Nathan Krusko (Omaha Lancers), John Marino (Tri-City Storm), Cameron Gornet (Sioux City Musketeers) and Jon Russell (Des Moines Buccaneers).



Clay Anderson (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Adam Baughman (Indiana Ice), Desmond Bergin (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Kyle Criscuolo (Sioux City Musketeers), Ryan Donato (Omaha Lancers), Michael Floodstrand (Team USA), Greg Gozzo (Omaha Lancers), Jake Horton (Waterloo Black Hawks), Michael Lackey (Team USA), Sean Malone (Team USA), Tyler Moy (Omaha Lancers), Victor Newell (Waterloo Black Hawks), Jacob Olson (Sioux City Musketeers) and Phil Zielonka (Omaha Lancers).


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 14th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2015-16.  A record 37 players were chosen in the 2015 NHL Draft and more than 375 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story