skip navigation

USHL Alumni in 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs

04/13/2016, 11:15am CDT

45 USHL alumni are in Stanley Cup Playoffs, in addition to three former coaches, while eight former Clark Cup Champions will be seeking another championship.


Anaheim Ducks - 1 

John Gibson - Team USA     


Chicago Blackhawks - 2

Scott Darling – Indiana Ice

Jiri Sekac – Youngstown Phantoms


Dallas Stars - 4

Alex Goligoski – Sioux Falls Stampede

Stephen Johns – Team USA

Jamie Oleksiak – Sioux Falls Stampede

Patrick Sharp – Thunder Bay Flyers


Detroit Red Wings - 4

Dylan Larkin – Team USA

Danny DeKeyser – Sioux City Musketeers

Justin Abdelkader – Cedar Rapids RoughRiders – Clark Cup Champion (2005), NCAA Champion (2007)

Drew Miller – Omaha Lancers


Florida Panthers - 3

Michael Matheson – Dubuque Fighting Saints

Steven Kampfer – Sioux City Musketeers

Rocco Grimaldi – Team USA


Los Angeles Kings - 3

Alec Martinez – Cedar Rapids RoughRiders – Clark Cup Champion (2005)

Trevor Lewis – Des Moines Buccaneers – Clark Cup Champion (2006)

Nic Dowd – Indiana Ice

Matt Greene – Green Bay Gamblers


Minnesota Wild - 6

Ryan Carter – Green Bay Gamblers

Thomas Vanek – Sioux Falls Stampede – NCAA Champion (2002)

Christian Folin – Fargo Force

Jason Zucker – Team USA

Nate Prosser – Sioux Falls Stampede

Erik Haula  Omaha Lancers 


Nashville Predators - 2

Craig Smith – Waterloo Black Hawks

Anthony Bitetto – Indiana Ice – Clark Cup Champion (2009)


New York Islanders - 3

Anders Lee – Green Bay Gamblers – Clark Cup Champion (2010)

Scott Mayfield – Youngstown Phantoms

Kyle Okposo – Des Moines Buccaneers – Clark Cup Champion (2006)


New York Rangers - 2

Brady Skjei – Team USA

J.T. Miller – Team USA


Philadelphia Flyers - 3

Sam Gagner – Sioux City Musketeers

Matt Read – Des Moines Buccaneers

Chris VandeVelde – Lincoln Stars


Pittsburgh Penguins - 1

Bryan Rust – Team USA


San Jose Sharks - 5

Matt Tennyson – Cedar Rapids RoughRiders

Joe Pavelski – Waterloo Black Hawks – Clark Cup Champion (2004), NCAA Champion (2006)

Matt Nieto – Team USA

Tommy Wingels – Cedar Rapids RoughRiders

Justin Braun – Green Bay Gamblers


St. Louis Blues - 3

David Backes – Lincoln Stars – Clark Cup Champion (2003)

Jaden Schwartz – Tri-City Storm

Paul Stastny – Omaha Lancers – NCAA Champion (2005)


Tampa Bay Lightning - 4

Erik Condra – Lincoln Stars

Andrej Sustr – Youngstown Phantoms

J.T. Brown – Waterloo Black Hawks – NCAA Champion (2011)

Matthew Carle – Omaha Lancers – NCAA Champion (2004 and 2005)


Washington Capitals - 3

Nate Schmidt – Fargo Force

John Carlson – Indiana Ice

T.J. Oshie – Sioux Falls Stampede


Alumni by USHL Team

Cedar Rapids RoughRiders – 4

Des Moines Buccaneers – 3

Dubuque Fighting Saints – 1

Fargo Force – 2

Green Bay Gamblers - 4

Lincoln Stars – 3

Omaha Lancers – 4

Sioux City Musketeers – 3

Sioux Falls Stampede – 5

Tri-City Storm – 1

Team USA – 9

Waterloo Black Hawks – 3

Youngstown Phantoms – 3



  • 45 total USHL alumni are on first round playoff rosters for the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs.
  • 13 of 17 USHL teams are represented on Stanley Cup Playoffs rosters.
  • All NHL teams feature at least one USHL alumnus on their roster.
  • Team USA leads the way with 9, followed by Sioux Falls (5), Cedar Rapids/Green Bay (4), and seven teams with three alumni each.
  • There are eight Clark Cup champions on Stanley Cup Playoffs rosters along with six NCAA tournament champions, as well as a pair of players who have won both titles.
  • Three NHL coaches who once coached in the USHL are coaching in the Stanley Cup Playoffs: Philadelphia’s Dave Hakstol (Sioux City Musketeers), Tampa Bay’s Jon Cooper (Green Bay Gamblers), and Detroit’s Jeff Blashill (Indiana Ice). Cooper and Blashill will see each other in the first round, as the Lightning and Red Wings will square off beginning Wednesday night. Both have won a Clark Cup Championship, and both have defeated the other in Clark Cup Playoffs.



First Round Playoff Matchups


Eastern Conference

Florida Panthers vs. New York Islanders

Tampa Bay Lightning vs. Detroit Red Wings

Washington Capitals vs. Philadelphia Flyers

Pittsburgh Penguins vs. New York Rangers


Western Conference

Dallas Stars vs. Minnesota Wild

St. Louis Blues vs. Chicago Blackhawks

Anaheim Ducks vs. Nashville Predators

Los Angeles Kings vs. San Jose Sharks


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 14th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2015-16.  A record 37 players were chosen in the 2015 NHL Draft and more than 375 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Spotlight  Top Story