skip navigation

Clark Cup Final Preview

05/11/2016, 5:15pm CDT

Preview of the Clark Cup Final matchup between the Dubuque Fighting Saints and Tri-City Storm.


Playoff Record

Dubuque: 6-3

Tri-City: 6-2


Home Record

Dubuque: 4-1

Tri-City: 4-1


Road Record

Dubuque: 2-2

Tri-City: 2-1



Teams split two head-to-head regular season meetings

  • January 22, 2016: Tri-City 4, Dubuque 1
  • January 23, 2016: Dubuque 4, Tri-City 2


Leading Scorers

Dubuque: Keegan Ford, 12 points (5 G, 7 A) – leading USHL playoff scorer

Tri-City: Carson Meyer, 11 points (5 G, 6 A)


Leading Rookie

Dubuque: Michael O’ Leary, 7 points (4 G, 3 A)

Tri-City: Alex Limgoes, 9 points (3 G, 6 A) – leading USHL rookie playoff scorer


Leading Goaltender

Dubuque: Hunter Miska, 6-3, 1.97 GAA, .927 SV%

Tri-City: Jake Kielly, 6-2, 1.76 GAA, .947 SV%


Power Play

Dubuque: 30.3%

Tri-City: 15.6%


Penalty Kill

Dubuque: 86.5%

Tri-City: 90.0%


NHL Draft Picks

Dubuque: Ryan Zuhlsdorf (Tampa Bay Lightning)

Tri-City: John Marino (Edmonton Oilers)


NHL Central Scouting Ranked Players

Dubuque: Willie Knierim (149)

Tri-City: Wade Allison (62), Brandon Duhaime (92), Walker Duehr (162)



  • This series features two coaches who are looking to win the Clark Cup in their first seasons behind their respective benches: Jason Lammers in Dubuque and Bill Muckalt in Tri-City. Notable recent USHL coaches to win in their first season include Indiana’s Jeff Blashill (2008-09), Dubuque’s Jim Montgomery (2010-11) and Green Bay’s Derek Lalonde (2011-12).
  • The Saints are looking for their third Clark Cup in six years. Dubuque is a perfect 2-0 when advancing to the Clark Cup Final, winning championships in 2011 and 2013.
  • The Storm are looking to capture their first Clark Cup title in club history. They advanced to the Final in 2004 but were defeated by the Waterloo Black Hawks, the team the Storm defeated in five games to win the Western Conference.
  • Dubuque’s Keegan Ford leads all players in Clark Cup Playoffs scoring with 12 points (5 G, 7 A).  Carson Meyer of the Storm is one point behind with 11 (5 G, 6 A).
  • This series features the top two goaltenders in the playoffs. Jake Kielly leads all netminders with a 1.76 GAA and a .947 SV%. Kielly also has three shutouts so far this postseason. On the other side, Hunter Miska is right behind with a 1.97 GAA and a .927 SV%. He picked up his first shutout of the Clark Cup Playoffs in Dubuque’s Game 5 victory in the Eastern Conference Final, a 3-0 win over the Bloomington Thunder.


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 14th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2015-16.  A record 37 players were chosen in the 2015 NHL Draft and more than 375 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story