skip navigation

USHL Players Named to WJC Camp

06/21/2016, 11:00am CDT

USA Hockey announced that 35 USHL alumni will participate in Team USA World Junior Championship camp.

Photo By Dan Hickling/Hickling Images

35 former USHL players were among the roster of invitees selected to participate in USA Hockey’s selection camp for the 2017 IIHF World Junior Championship.


The camp will run from July 30th to August 7th at USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, MI home of Team USA. The 2017 IIHF World Junior Championship will be held December 26, 2016 through January 5, 2017 in Montreal, QC and Toronto, ON.


The United States will be seeking its fourth gold medal at the World Junior Championship. Defenseman John Carlson (Indiana Ice) scored the game-winning overtime goal to vault Team USA to gold in 2010, and the Americans also captured a goal medals in 2013 and 2004. Notable USHL alumni that have played in the World Junior Championship include Justin Abdelkader (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Brock Boeser (Waterloo Black Hawks), Jack Eichel (Team USA), Johnny Gaudreau (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Dylan Larkin (Team USA), Auston Matthews (Team USA), Ian McCoshen (Waterloo Black Hawks), Nick Schmaltz (Green Bay Gamblers), Jaccob Slavin (Chicago Steel) and Zach Werenski (Team USA).


Notable invitees include 2015 USHL Rookie of the Year Kieffer Bellows (Team USA), last season’s leading scorer for Team USA Clayton Keller, 2016 USHL Defenseman of the Year Jack Ahcan (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders) and 2016 USHL Player and Forward of the Year Rem Pitlick (Muskegon Lumberjacks). Bob Motzko (North Iowa Huskies/Sioux Falls Stampede) was named Team USA head coach for the 2016 World Junior Championship.


Below is a full list of USHL alumni selected to participate in the camp:


Position Name USHL Team Hometown
G Jake Oettinger Team USA Lakeville, MN
G Joseph Woll Team USA St. Louis, MO
D Jack Ahcan Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Savage, MN
D Nick Boka Team USA Plymouth, MI
D Joe Cecconi Muskegon Lumberjacks Youngstown, MI
D Casey Fitzgerald Team USA North Reading, MA
D Adam Fox Team USA Jericho, NY
D JD Greenway Team USA Potsdam, NY
D Caleb Jones Team USA Frisco, TX
D Chad Krys Team USA Ridgefield, CT
D Ryan Lindgren Team USA Minneapolis, MN
D Luke Martin Team USA St. Louis, MO
D Joe Masonius Team USA Spring Lake, NJ
D Charlie McAvoy Team USA Long Beach, NY
F Joey Anderson Team USA Roseville, MN
F Kieffer Bellows Team USA Edina, MN
F Brock Boeser Waterloo Black Hawks Burnsville, MN
F Jeremy Bracco Team USA Freeport, NY
F Christian Fischer Team USA Chicago, IL
F Erik Foley Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Mansfield, MA
F Trent Frederic Team USA St. Louis, MO
F Jordan Greenway Team USA Potsdam, NY
F Max Jones Team USA Rochester, MI
F Clayton Keller Team USA Swansea, IL
F Luke Kunin Team USA Chesterfield, MO
F Tanner Laczynski Lincoln Stars Shorewood, IL
F Casey Mittelstadt Team USA Eden Prarie, MN
F Tom Novak Waterloo Black Hawks River Falls, WI
F Rem Pitlick Muskegon Lumberjacks Plymouth, MI
F Jack Roslovic Team USA Columbus, OH
F Troy Terry Team USA Denver, CO
F Tage Thompson Team USA Oyster Bay, NY
F Matthew Tkachuk Team USA St. Louis, MO
F Riley Tufte Fargo Force Ham Lake, MN
F Brendan Warren Team USA Carleton, MI

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 14th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2015-16.  A record 37 players were chosen in the 2015 NHL Draft and more than 375 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story