skip navigation

2016 Organization & Executive of the Year

11/04/2016, 8:45am CDT

The Tri-City Storm were named 2016 USHL Organization of the Year, and Bryan Marshall of the Omaha Lancers was named USHL Executive of the Year.

Photo by Brandon Anderson

Tri-City Storm Named 2016 Organization of the Year


The United States Hockey League today announced that the Tri-City Storm have been named the 2016 USHL Organization of the Year as determined by a vote from USHL Member Clubs. It was the first time Tri-City received the award since the 2003-04 season.


2015-16 was a record-setting season for the Storm.  Season ticket sales have increased by 234% since the 2013-14 campaign with the 2015-16 season alone increasing by an 30% from the season prior.  Additionally, the Storm players, coaches and staff attended over 190 community events during the 2015-16 season, a season that culminated in the organization’s first Clark Cup championship in front of a sold out crowd at the Viaero Center. 


In October 2015, the Storm hosted  “Paint the Ice” Night at the Viaero Center.  As part of the Storm’s Color Out Cancer promotion, Storm fans were invited out for an evening of painting for those affected by cancer.  Fans painted tributes on the ice to their loved ones that were displayed for a pair of games. 


In January 2016, the Storm worked with the Sammy’s Superheroes Foundation, a foundation devoted to helping the families of children battling cancer.  During the Sammy’s Superheroes Night, kids from central Nebraska received the VIP treatment and received the opportunity to “Be a Storm player for a day.” Additionally, captain Tory Dello was named the winner of the Curt Hammer Award for his leadership and community involvement. Dello is now a freshman at the University of Notre Dame.


The Storm also worked very closely with the Kearney Public School system as well as many surrounding communities to help raise funds for much needed projects in the Tri-City area.  During the 2015-16 season, the Storm donated back over $100,000 to the Tri-City schools, cancer research organizations and several others.  Through ticket fundraisers, jersey auctions, etc., the Storm made a positive impact in the Tri-City community.



Bryan Marshall Named USHL Executive of the Year

The United States Hockey League announced today that Bryan Marshall, President of the Omaha Lancers, has been named the 2016 Dave Tyler USHL Executive of the Year as determined by a vote of senior management from USHL Member Clubs.


Marshall is in his fourth season as the Lancers president, and he oversees the development and growth of the team’s corporate sponsorships, its community support and outreach programs, game scheduling, personnel management, and other efforts to promote the USHL and the Lancers brand to fans and businesses in the Omaha area. 


Marshall was a key to recent growth of corporate sponsorships for the Lancers during the 2015-16 season.  Under Marshall, the Lancers have enjoyed a 14% increase in corporate sponsorships over previous years, a direct result of his ability to develop relationships and create strategic plans that help partners achieve their marketing objectives. 


Under Marshall’s coordination and leadership, Omaha hosted a highly successful USHL/NHL Top Prospects game that saw a record crowd of over 3,300.  The two-day event was showcased in a prime time feature on the NHL Network.


Additionally, Marshall’s influence on the Lancers’ fundraising and philanthropic efforts helped raise over $100,000 for community organizations during the 2015-16 season, including Leap For a Cure, Scare Away Cancer, Project Pink’d, and Boys and Girls Clubs.


It is the first time a member of the Omaha Lancers has been recognized as Dave Tyler USHL Executive of the Year since Ben Robert received the award following the 2009-10 season.  The award is named in honor of Dave Tyler, recognizing his leadership and dedication to the USHL and junior hockey in the United States.  He served as President of the USHL from 1982-94 and his tenure with USA Hockey ran from 1975 to 2007.



Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 15th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2016-17.  30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in four consecutive NHL Drafts,  and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story