skip navigation

USHL Alumni Collect NCAA Awards

03/23/2017, 10:00am CDT

All six conference Players of the Year, eight of 10 Hobey Baker Award finalists are USHL alumni.


USHL alumni were heavily represented throughout the country when college hockey announced end of season awards and national finalists. Listed below are the awards, players and the last USHL team they played for.
Hobey Baker Award Finalists

  • Zach Aston-Reese (Lincoln Stars)
  • Michael Bitzer (Lincoln Stars)
  • Anders Bjork (Team USA)
  • Will Butcher (Team USA)
  • Tyler Kelleher (Team USA)
  • Tyler Sheehy (Youngstown Phantoms)
  • Mike Vecchione (Tri-City Storm)
  • Charles Williams (Lincoln Stars)

Mike Richter Award Finalists

  • Michael Bitzer (Lincoln Stars)
  • Kyle Hayton (Sioux City Musketeers)
  • Hunter Miska (Dubuque Fighting Saints)
  • Jake Oettinger (Team USA)
  • Cal Petersen (Waterloo Black Hawks)
  • Shane Starrett (Lincoln Stars)
  • Charles Williams (Lincoln Stars)

Atlantic Hockey

  • Player of the Year: Charles Williams (Lincoln Stars)
  • All-Atlantic Hockey First Team: Phil Boje (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Charles Williams (Lincoln Stars)
  • All-Atlantic Hockey Second Team: Derek Barach (Green Bay Gamblers)
  • All-Atlantic Hockey Third Team: Dylan McLaughlin (Sioux Falls Stampede), Shane Starrett (Lincoln Stars)
  • All-Atlantic Hockey Rookie Team: Nick Hutchison (Tri-City Storm)

Big Ten

  • Player of the Year: Tyler Sheehy (Youngstown Phantoms)
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Jake Bischoff (Omaha Lancers)
  • Goaltender of the Year: Eric Schierhorn (Muskegon Lumberjacks)
  • Freshman of the Year: Trent Frederic (Team USA)
  • All-Big Ten First Team: Justin Kloos (Waterloo Black Hawks), Tyler Sheehy (Youngstown Phantoms), Mason Jobst (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Jake Bischoff (Omaha Lancers), Vince Pedrie (Tri-City Storm), Eric Schierhorn (Muskegon Lumberjacks)
  • All-Big Ten Second Team: Nick Schilkey (Green Bay Gamblers), Trent Fredric (Team USA), Luke Kunin (Team USA), Jake Linhart (Green Bay Gamblers), Christian Frey (Dubuque Fighting Saints)
  • Big Ten All-Freshman Team: Rem Pitlick (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Denis Smirnov (Fargo Force), Trent Frederic (Team USA), Ryan Lindgren (Team USA), Kris Myllari (Youngstown Phantoms), Peyton Jones (Lincoln Stars)


  • Player of the Year: Mike Vecchione (Tri-City Storm)
  • Goaltender of the Year: Kyle Hayton (Sioux City Musketeers)
  • Rookie of the Year: Adam Fox (Team USA)
  • All-ECAC First Team: Mike Vecchione (Tri-City Storm), Gavin Bayreuther (Fargo Force), Adam Fox (Team USA), Kyle Hayton (Sioux City Musketeers)
  • All-ECAC Second Team: Ryan Donato (Omaha Lancers), John Hayden (Team USA), Jeff Taylor (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Alex Sakellaropoulos (Chicago Steel)
  • All-ECAC Third Team: Chase Priskie (Fargo Force)
  • All-ECAC Rookie Team: Nico Sturm (Tri-City Storm), Adam Fox (Team USA), Jake Kielly (Tri-City Storm) 

Hockey East

  • Player of the Year: Zach Aston-Reese (Lincoln Stars)
  • Rookie of the Year: Clayton Keller (Team USA)
  • Best Defensive Defenseman: Dennis Gilbert (Chicago Steel)
  • Best Defensive Forward: Austin Cangelosi (Youngstown Phantoms)
  • Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award: Joe Gambardella (Des Moines Buccaneers)
  • All-Hockey East First Team: Zach Aston-Reese (Lincoln Stars), Anders Bjork (Team USA), Tyler Kelleher (Team USA), Charlie McAvoy (Team USA), Cal Petersen (Waterloo Black Hawks)
  • All-Hockey East Second Team: Joe Gambardella (Des Moines Buccaneers), Clayton Keller (Team USA), Michael Kapla (Sioux City Musketeers), Jake Oettinger (Team USA)
  • All-Hockey East Third Team: Austin Cangelosi (Youngstown Phantoms), Adam Gaudette (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Tage Thompson (Team USA), Dennis Gilbert (Chicago Steel), Scott Savage (Team USA)
  • Hockey East All-Rookie Team: Ross Colton (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Patrick Grasso (Des Moines Buccaneers), Patrick Harper (Omaha Lancers), Clayton Keller (Team USA), Andrew Peeke (Green Bay Gamblers), Joseph Woll (Team USA)


  • Player of the Year: Will Butcher (Team USA)
  • Defensive Defenseman of the Year: Tucker Poolman (Omaha Lancers)
  • Offensive Defenseman of the Year: Will Butcher (Team USA)
  • Forward of the Year: Anthony Louis (Team USA)
  • Defensive Forward of the Year: Dominic Toninato (Fargo Force)
  • Sportsmanship Award: Tyler Vesel (Omaha Lancers)
  • All-NCHC First Team: Alex Iafallo (Fargo Force), Anthony Louis (Team USA), Austin Ortega (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Will Butcher (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Tucker Poolman (Omaha Lancers)
  • All-NCHC Second Team: Dylan Gambrell (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Sheldon Dries (Green Bay Gamblers), Neal Pionk (Sioux City Musketeers), Luc Snuggerud (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Hunter Miska (Dubuque Fighting Saints)
  • NCHC All-Rookie Team: Joey Anderson (Team USA), Jack Ahcan (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Michael Davies (Waterloo Black Hawks), Ben Blacker (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders)


  • Player of the Year: Michael Bitzer (Lincoln Stars)
  • Rookie of the Year: Marc Michaelis (Green Bay Gamblers)
  • All-WCHA First Team: Gerald Mayhew (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Marc Michaelis (Green Bay Gamblers), Matt Roy (Indiana Ice), Michael Bitzer (Lincoln Stars)
  • All-WCHA Second Team: C.J. Franklin (Sioux Falls Stampede), Mitch Hults (Madison Capitols), Phillip Marinaccio (Lincoln Stars)
  • All-WCHA Third Team: Dominik Shine (Lincoln Stars), Mark Friedman (Waterloo Black Hawks)
  • WCHA All-Rookie Team: Marc Michaelis (Green Bay Gamblers), Max Humitz (Tri-City Storm), Ian Scheid (Sioux City Musketeers), Alec Rauhauser (Des Moines Buccaneers), Mitch Reinke (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders)



Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 15th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2016-17.  30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in four consecutive NHL Drafts,  and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story