skip navigation

2017 NCAA Hockey Championship USHL Alumni Notes

04/08/2017, 11:15am CDT

Denver and Minnesota Duluth will face off for the national championship on Saturday night. CATCH UP ON ALL OF THE USHL ALUMNI NOTES HEADING INTO THE GAME.


USHL Alumni by Team

  • University of Denver - 13/27 (48%)
  • University of Minnesota Duluth - 16/27 (59%)

TOTAL: 29/54 (54%)


Clark Cup Champions by Team:

  • University of Denver: Dylan Gambrell (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2013); Evan Janssen (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2013); Logan O’Connor (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2015)
  • University of Minnesota Duluth: Karson Kuhlman (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2013)


Hobey Baker Award Winner

  • Will Butcher (Team USA) – University of Denver


USHL Defenseman of the Year (1)

  • 2015: Neal Pionk (Sioux City Musketeers) - University of Minnesota Duluth


Former USHL Coaches

  • Jim Montgomery – University of Denver
    • Dubuque Fighting Saints (2010-13)
    • 2011 and 2013 USHL General Manager of the Year
    • 2011 and 2013 Clark Cup Champion
    • USHL coaching record: 118-45-21


1. Denver vs. 2. Minnesota Duluth

This matchup between a pair of NCHC schools and the top two teams in the tournament features 29 combined USHL alumni between the schools, 8 of which have been selected in the NHL Draft. Minnesota Duluth edged Harvard by a score of 2-1 in an exciting first game of the Frozen Four, while Denver dispatched of Notre Dame by a 6-1 final. Denver is led by Hobey Baker Award winner Will Butcher (Team USA), and the Pioneers also have players with championship experience on their roster, including this season. Troy Terry (Team USA) became a household name following the World Junior Championship, and he'll look to use that experience to help the Pioneers along with Logan O'Connor, who was a 2015 Clark Cup Champion with the Sioux Falls Stampede. Former Dubuque Fighting Saints Dylan Gambrell and Evan Janssen are seeking their second championship as teammates, with the other coming in 2013 in the form of a Clark Cup title with the Fighting Saints. Their head coach in Dubuque was current Denver bench boss Jim Montgomery, who won both the 2011 and 2013 Clark Cups as the head coach of the Fighting Saints. Minnesota Duluth's Karson Kuhlman was also on that 2013 Dubuque team that captured the Clark Cup. Bulldogs goaltender Hunter Miska, who was outstanding against Harvard in the national semifinal, is also a former Fighting Saint, as he helped Dubuque to the 2016 Clark Cup Final. He, along with Dominic Toninato (Fargo Force), 2016 first round pick Riley Tufte (Fargo Force) and Joey Anderson (Team USA) will look to upset the top-ranked Pioneers. Denver is looking to claim their first title since the Pioneers won back-to-back national championships in 2005 and 2006, while Minnesota Duluth is looking for their second title in program history. The Bulldogs other national championship came in 2011 when they knocked off Michigan in overtime.


NHL Draft Picks in National Championship

  • Will Butcher (Team USA/Colorado Avalanche) - University of Denver
  • Dylan Gambrell (Dubuque Fighting Saints/San Jose Sharks) - University of Denver
  • Troy Terry (Team USA/Anaheim Ducks) - University of Denver
  • Blake Hillman (Waterloo Black Hawks/Chicago Blackhawks) - University of Denver
  • Joey Anderson (Team USA/New Jersey Devils) - University of Minnesota Duluth
  • Avery Peterson (Sioux City Musketeers/Minnesota Wild) - University of Minnesota Duluth
  • Riley Tufte (Fargo Force/Dallas Stars) - University of Minnesota Duluth
  • Dominic Toninato (Fargo Force/Toronto Maple Leafs) - University of Minnesota Duluth
  • TOTAL: 8/13 (62%)


Tag(s): Top Story