skip navigation

USHL Alumni Make Big Impact on NHL Opening Night Rosters

10/04/2017, 5:30pm CDT

128 USHL alumni were named to NHL Opening Night Rosters, all 31 NHL teams with at least one USHL alum.


The NHL and its club rosters were announced at 10 a.m. Eastern time this morning. Some players who recently have agreed to terms with their respective clubs but whose contract had not yet been approved by the League are not included. In total, 128 USHL alumni were named to NHL Opening Nights rosters. All 31 NHL teams listed at least on USHL alum on their roster. The 2017-18 regular season begins tonight with four games.


USHL Alumni

Name USHL Team NHL Team
Jared Boll Lincoln Stars Anaheim Ducks
Cam Fowler Team USA Anaheim Ducks
John Gibson Team USA Anaheim Ducks
Jaycob Megna Muskegon Lumberjacks Anaheim Ducks
Brandon Montour Waterloo Black Hawks Anaheim Ducks
Patrick Eaves Team USA Anaheim Ducks
Ryan Kesler Team USA Anaheim Ducks
Adam Clendening Team USA Arizona Coyotes
Christian Dvorak Chicago Steel Arizona Coyotes
Christian Fischer Team USA Arizona Coyotes
Alex Goligoski Sioux Falls Stampede Arizona Coyotes
Clayton Keller Team USA Arizona Coyotes
David Backes Lincoln Stars Boston Bruins
Anders Bjork Team USA Boston Bruins
Matt Grzelcyk Team USA Boston Bruins
Sean Kuraly Indiana Ice Boston Bruins
Charlie McAvoy Team USA Boston Bruins
Frank Vatrano Team USA Boston Bruins
Austin Czarnik Green Bay Gamblers Boston Bruins
Torey Krug Indiana Ice Boston Bruins
Jack Eichel Team USA Buffalo Sabres
Zemgus Girgensons Dubuque Fighting Saints Buffalo Sabres
Jake McCabe Team USA Buffalo Sabres
Kyle Okposo Des Moines Buccaneers Buffalo Sabres
Matt Tennyson Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Buffalo Sabres
Matt Bartkowski Lincoln Stars Calgary Flames
Johnny Gaudreau Dubuque Fighting Saints Calgary Flames
Matthew Tkachuk Team USA Calgary Flames
Scott Darling Indiana Ice Carolina Hurricanes
Justin Faulk Team USA Carolina Hurricanes
Noah Hanifin Team USA Carolina Hurricanes
Jaccob Slavin Chicago Steel Carolina Hurricanes
Ryan Hartman Team USA Chicago Blackhawks
John Hayden Team USA Chicago Blackhawks
Tanner Kero Fargo Force Chicago Blackhawks
Connor Murphy Team USA Chicago Blackhawks
Jordan Oesterle Sioux Falls Stampede Chicago Blackhawks
Brandon Saad Team USA Chicago Blackhawks
Nick Schmaltz Green Bay Gamblers Chicago Blackhawks
Patrick Sharp Thunder Bay Flyers Chicago Blackhawks
Tommy Wingels Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Chicago Blackhawks
Luc Snuggerud Omaha Lancers Chicago Blackhawks
J.T. Compher Team USA Colorado Avalanche
A.J. Greer Des Moines Buccaneers Colorado Avalanche
Seth Jones Team USA Columbus Blue Jackets
Sonny Milano Team USA Columbus Blue Jackets
Zach Werenski Team USA Columbus Blue Jackets
Martin Hanzal Omaha Lancers Dallas Stars
Stephen Johns Team USA Dallas Stars
Jamie Oleksiak Sioux Falls Stampede Dallas Stars
Greg Pateryn Ohio Junior Blue Jackets Dallas Stars
Justin Abdelkader Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Detroit Red Wings
David Booth Team USA Detroit Red Wings
Danny DeKeyser Sioux City Musketeers Detroit Red Wings
Jimmy Howard Team USA Detroit Red Wings
Dylan Larkin Team USA Detroit Red Wings
Luke Witkowski Fargo Force Detroit Red Wings
Matt Benning Dubuque Fighting Saints Edmonton Oilers
Drake Caggiula Des Moines Buccaneers Edmonton Oilers
Eric Gryba Green Bay Gamblers Edmonton Oilers
Brian Ferlin Indiana Ice Edmonton Oilers
Connor Brickley Des Moines Buccaneers Florida Panthers
Mike Matheson Dubuque Fighting Saints Florida Panthers
Ian McCoshen Waterloo Black Hawks Florida Panthers
Jonny Brodzinski Fargo Force Los Angeles Kings
Nic Dowd Indiana Ice Los Angeles Kings
Christian Folin Fargo Force Los Angeles Kings
Derek Forbort Team USA Los Angeles Kings
Alex Iafallo Fargo Force Los Angeles Kings
Trevor Lewis Des Moines Buccaneers Los Angeles Kings
Alec Martinez Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Los Angeles Kings
Nick Shore Team USA Los Angeles Kings
Gustav Olofsson Green Bay Gamblers Minnesota Wild
Alex Stalock Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Minnesota Wild
Jason Zucker Team USA Minnesota Wild
Max Pacioretty Sioux City Musketeers Montreal Canadiens
Jeff Petry Des Moines Buccaneers Montreal Canadiens
Anthony Bitetto Indiana Ice Nashville Predators
Craig Smith Waterloo Black Hawks Nashville Predators
Will Butcher Team USA New Jersey Devils
Blake Coleman Indiana Ice New Jersey Devils
Jimmy Hayes Lincoln Stars New Jersey Devils
Keith Kinkaid Des Moines Buccaneers New Jersey Devils
John Moore Chicago Steel New Jersey Devils
Steven Santini Team USA New Jersey Devils
Anders Lee Green Bay Gamblers New York Islanders
Scott Mayfield Youngstown Phantoms New York Islanders
Paul Carey Indiana Ice New York Rangers
Tony DeAngelo Cedar Rapids RoughRiders New York Rangers
Steven Kampfer Sioux City Musketeers New York Rangers
J.T. Miller Sioux City Musketeers New York Rangers
Brady Skjei Team USA New York Rangers
Ryan Dzingel Lincoln Stars Ottawa Senators
Chris Wideman Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Ottawa Senators
Colin White Team USA Ottawa Senators
Ivan Provorov Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Philadelphia Flyers
Jake Guentzel Sioux City Musketeers Pittsburgh Penguins
Chad Ruhwedel Sioux Falls Stampede Pittsburgh Penguins
Bryan Rust Team USA Pittsburgh Penguins
Justin Braun Green Bay Gamblers San Jose Sharks
Ryan Carpenter Sioux City Musketeers San Jose Sharks
Kevin Labanc Team USA San Jose Sharks
Joe Pavelski Waterloo Black Hawks San Jose Sharks
Nate Prosser Sioux Falls Stampede St. Louis Blues
Jaden Schwartz Tri-City Storm St. Louis Blues
Paul Stastny Omaha Lancers St. Louis Blues
Tage Thompson Team USA St. Louis Blues
Luke Opilka Team USA St. Louis Blues
Zach Sanford Waterloo Black Hawks St. Louis Blues
J.T. Brown Waterloo Black Hawks Tampa Bay Lightning
Andrej Sustr Youngstown Phantoms Tampa Bay Lightning
Erik Condra Lincoln Stars Tampa Bay Lightning
Connor Carrick Team USA Toronto Maple Leafs
Ron Hainsey Team USA Toronto Maple Leafs
Auston Matthews Team USA Toronto Maple Leafs
Brock Boeser Waterloo Black Hawks Vancouver Canucks
Sam Gagner Sioux City Musketeers Vancouver Canucks
Thomas Vanek Sioux Falls Stampede Vancouver Canucks
Erik Haula Omaha Lancers Vegas Golden Knights
Jon Merrill Team USA Vegas Golden Knights
Nate Schmidt Fargo Force Vegas Golden Knights
John Carlson Indiana Ice Washington Capitals
T.J. Oshie Sioux Falls Stampede Washington Capitals
Nathan Walker Youngstown Phantoms Washington Capitals
Andrew Copp Team USA Winnipeg Jets
Tucker Poolman Omaha Lancers Winnipeg Jets
Jacob Trouba Team USA Winnipeg Jets
Blake Wheeler Green Bay Gamblers Winnipeg Jets


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 16th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2017-18. 30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in five consecutive NHL Drafts, and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Spotlight