skip navigation

Final USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game Roster

01/05/2018, 8:30am CST

Updated Team East and Team West rosters reflective after injury replacement, including jersey numbers.

The United States Hockey League and NHL Central Scouting announced the final roster of players selected to compete in the 2018 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game that will take place on Jan. 9, 2018 in Kearney, NE at the Viaero Center, home of the USHL’s Tri-City Storm. The selection process for players competing in the game was completed in cooperation with NHL general managers and scouts, NHL Central Scouting and USHL general managers. All 40 players chosen are eligible for the 2018 NHL Draft.


In the six-year history of the USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game, 76 players who participated in the game have later been selected in the NHL Draft, including four first round selections: Shane Bowers (Ottawa Senators, 2017), Kyle Connor (Winnipeg Jets, 2015), Brock Boeser (Vancouver Canucks, 2015) and Jordan Schmaltz (St. Louis Blues, 2012). Other first round selections who were named to the game but were unable to participate due to injury include Eeli Tolvanen(Nashville Predators, 2017), Michael Matheson (Florida Panthers, 2012) and Zemgus Girgensons (Buffalo Sabres, 2012).


The 40 players have been split into two teams – Team East and Team West – for the 2018 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game, representing a split of players competing in the USHL’s Eastern Conference and Western Conference. 


2018 marks the sixth time, and fourth consecutive year, that the USHL will be hosting the USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game. The 2018 NHL Draft will be held June 22-23 in Dallas, TX at the American Airlines Center, home of the Dallas Stars.


Below are the rosters for Team East and Team West at the 2018 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game:

Team East

Pos. No. Name USHL Team NCAA Commitment
F 8 Harrison Roy Cedar Rapids RoughRiders University of Maine
F 10 Tyler Madden Tri-City Storm Northeastern University
F 21 Blake McLaughlin Chicago Steel University of Minnesota
F 16 Braden Costello Des Moines Buccaneers University of North Dakota
F 23 Alexander Steeves Dubuque Fighting Saints University of Notre Dame
F 9 Noah Prokop Green Bay Gamblers University of Nebraska Omaha
F 29 Ryan O'Reilly Madison Capitols University of Denver
F 25 Ben Copeland Waterloo Black Hawks Colorado College
F 14 Matej Pekar Muskegon Lumberjacks University of Nebraska Omaha
F 22 Emilio Pettersen Muskegon Lumberjacks University of Denver
F 6 Max Ellis Youngstown Phantoms University of Notre Dame
F 20 Curtis Hall Youngstown Phantoms Yale University
D 7 Michael Callahan Central Illinois Flying Aces Providence College
D 11 Xan Gurney Chicago Steel Western Michigan University
D 4 Graham Lillibridge Chicago Steel Yale University
D 12 Aidan Fulp Dubuque Fighting Saints Western Michigan University
D 5 Hugo Blixt Tri-City Storm Boston University
D 2 Marc Del Gaizo Muskegon Lumberjacks University of Massachusetts-Amherst
G 35 Zach Stejskal Central Illinois Flying Aces University of Minnesota Duluth
G 31 Ivan Prosvetov Youngstown Phantoms

Team West

Pos. No. Name USHL Team NCAA Commitment
F 14 Ryan Savage Fargo Force Miami University
F 8 Matej Blumel Waterloo Black Hawks University of Connecticut
F 17 Paul Cotter Lincoln Stars Western Michigan University
F 20 Philippe Lapointe Lincoln Stars University of Michigan
F 19 Devlin McCabe Lincoln Stars University of Minnesota Duluth
F 28 Jack Randl Omaha Lancers University of Michigan
F 24 Martin Pospisil Sioux City Musketeers St. Lawrence University
F 5 Sampo Ranta Sioux City Musketeers University of Wisconsin
F 23 Samuel Salonen Sioux City Musketeers
F 27 Jaxon Nelson Sioux Falls Stampede University of Minnesota
F 11 Wyllum Deveaux Tri-City Storm Harvard University
F 18 Jack Drury Waterloo Black Hawks Harvard University
D 2 Matthew Kessel Fargo Force Miami University
D 7 Chrstian Krygier Lincoln Stars University of Wisconsin
D 16 Cole Krygier Lincoln Stars University of Wisconsin
D 9 Travis Mitchell Omaha Lancers Cornell University
D 6 John St. Ivany Sioux Falls Stampede Yale University
D 10 Jace Foskey Tri-City Storm Harvard University
G 33 Jacob Kucharski Des Moines Buccaneers Providence College
G 35 Jared Moe Waterloo Black Hawks University of Minnesota


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 16th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2017-18. 30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in five consecutive NHL Drafts, and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Spotlight