skip navigation

USHL Well-Represented in NHL All-Star Game

01/11/2018, 10:45am CST

Seven USHL alumni, in addition to head coach Jon Cooper, were named to the 2018 NHL All-Star Game.

The NHL announced rosters for the 2018 Honda NHL All-Star Game that will take place on Jan. 28 at Amalie Arena in Tampa, FL. Seven USHL alumni, in addition to one head coach, will participate for their respective divisions. Those seven alumni rank second-most of any junior league in the world represented in the NHL All-Star Game.


Brock Boeser (Waterloo Black Hawks) was named to the Pacific Team, as he ranks second among all NHL rookies in scoring. Auston Matthews (Team USA) was named to his second consecutive NHL All-Star Game, while Johnny Gaudreau (Dubuque Fighting Saints) was named his fourth consecutive NHL All-Star Game. The USHL youth movement continues to be displayed at the event, as alumni have been named to the game in four consecutive seasons as a rookie (Boeser – 2018, Matthews – 2017, Dylan Larkin – 2016, Gaudreau – 2015).


Tampa Bay Lightning head coach Jon Cooper (Green Bay Gamblers) will coach Team Atlantic in his home rink. The Lightning currently have the best record in the NHL (34-12-3), and have three more points in the standings than the next closest team. Cooper is in his fifth season with Tampa Bay after spending two seasons with Green Bay where he won USHL General Manager of the Year twice, 2010 USHL Coach of the Year and a Clark Cup championship.


The NHL All-Star Game will feature a three-game tournament, played in a 3-on-3 format, showcasing teams from each NHL division. Each of the four teams include six forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders. Coverage begins on NBC at 3:30 pm ET on Sunday, Jan. 28.

Name USHL Team NHL Team All-Star Team
Jack Eichel Team USA Buffalo Sabres Atlantic
Auston Matthews Team USA Toronto Maple Leafs Atlantic
Blake Wheeler Green Bay Gamblers Winnipeg Jets Central
Noah Hanifin Team USA Carolina Hurricanes Metropolitan
Zach Werenski Team USA Columbus Blue Jackets Metropolitan
Brock Boeser Waterloo Black Hawks Vancouver Canucks Pacific
Johnny Gaudreau Dubuque Fighting Saints Calgary Flames Pacific


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 16th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2017-18. 30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in five consecutive NHL Drafts, and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Top Story