skip navigation

USHL Alumni Nominated for Hobey Baker Award

01/16/2018, 11:00am CST

49 of the 74 college hockey players nominated for the prestigious Hobey Baker Memorial Award previously played in the USHL.

The nominees for the 2018 Hobey Baker Memorial Award were announced Tuesday. The award recognizes the top NCAA men's ice hockey player in the nation. Of the 74 players nominated, 49 previously played in the USHL prior to playing college hockey. Nominations were given by sports information directors from Division I schools.


The top-10 players from the fan vote will be announced at a later date. When voting for the Hobey Baker Award, fans are asked to keep in mind the qualities that a nominee must display: exhibit strength and character, both on and off the ice; contribute to the integrity of the team; display outstanding skills in all phases of the game; show scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.


17 different USHL teams have alumni represented, including 13 teams with multiple players: Cedar Rapids RoughRiders (9), Team USA (7), Sioux Falls Stampede (4), Omaha Lancers (3), Sioux City Musketeers (3), Green Bay Gamblers (3), Chicago Steel (3), Youngstown Phantoms (3), Lincoln Stars (2), Dubuque Fighting Saints (2), Tri-City Storm (2), Fargo Force (2) and Muskegon Lumberjacks (2). Nine USHL alumni have won the prestigious award, including six in the past seven years. The winner will be announced during the Frozen Four on Friday, April 6.


Fans can see the full list of nominees and vote for their top-10 finalists here.

Name USHL Team NCAA Team
Tony Calderone Sioux Falls Stampede University of Michigan
Trent Frederic Team USA University of Wisconsin
Kyle Schmidt Sioux City Musketeers Bentley University
Mitchell Fossier Sioux City Musketeers University of Maine
Ross Colton Cedar Rapids RoughRiders University of Vermont
Jacob Hayhurst Cedar Rapids RoughRiders RPI
Dylan McLaughlin Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Canisius College
Matt O'Donnell Cedar Rapids RoughRiders University of Vermont
Ryan Donato Omaha Lancers Harvard University
Riley Tufte Fargo Force University of Minnesota Duluth
Mason Bergh Chicago Steel Colorado College
Jimmy Schuldt Omaha Lancers St. Cloud State University
Michael Bitzer Lincoln Stars Bemidji State University
Matthew Weis Green Bay Gamblers Ohio State University
Noah Delmas Bloomington Thunder Niagara University
Scott Pooley Muskegon Lumberjacks College of the Holy Cross
Ryan Wagner Team USA University of Wisconsin
Jordan Gross Green Bay Gamblers University of Notre Dame
Robbie Payne Chicago Steel Northern Michigan University
Mitch Maloney Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Ferris State University
Joey Anderson Team USA University of Minnesota Duluth
Mason Jobst Muskegon Lumberjacks Ohio State University
Gordie Green Dubuque Fighting Saints Miami University
Josh Melnick Youngstown Phantoms Miami University
C.J. Suess Sioux Falls Stampede Minnesota State University
Alex Rauter Youngstown Phantoms Cornell University
Tyler Vesel Omaha Lancers University of Nebraska Omaha
Mitch Reinke Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Michigan Tech
Tanner Laczynski Lincoln Stars Ohio State University
Casey Mittelstadt Green Bay Gamblers University of Minnesota
Troy Terry Team USA University of Denver
Joseph Woll Team USA Boston College
Chase Pearson Youngstown Phantoms University of Maine
Erik Foley Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Providence College
Dylan Gambrell Dubuque Fighting Saints University of Denver
Cooper Marody Sioux Falls Stampede University of Michigan
Adam Gaudette Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Northeastern University
Wade Allison Tri-City Storm Western Michigan University
Louie Belpedio Team USA Miami University
Alec Rauhauser Des Moines Buccaneers Bowling Green State University
Denis Smirnov Fargo Force Penn State University
Brian Pinho Indiana Ice Providence College
Scott Perunovich Cedar Rapids RoughRiders University of Minnesota Duluth
Stefanos Lekkas Sioux Falls Stampede University of Vermont
Joe Snively Sioux City Musketeers Yale University
Casey Fitzgerald Team USA Boston College
Jake Kielly Tri-City Storm Clarkson University
Cale Morris Waterloo Black Hawks University of Notre Dame
Peter Tischke Chicago Steel University of Wisconsin


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 16th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2017-18. 30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in five consecutive NHL Drafts, and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Spotlight