skip navigation

Adam Gaudette Wins 2018 Hobey Baker Award

04/06/2018, 6:00pm CDT

Former Cedar Rapids RoughRiders forward named top player in college hockey.

Northeastern University and former Cedar Rapids RoughRiders forward Adam Gaudette was named the winner of the 2018 Hobey Baker Award, given to college hockey's top player. 


Gaudette led all college hockey players in scoring during the 2017-18 season with 60 points (30G, 30A) in 38 games. He was named to the All-Hockey East First Team and was also named Hockey East Player of the Year following his outstanding season.


The Braintree, MA native spent the 2014-15 campaign with the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, tallying 30 points (13G, 17A) in 50 games. He was selected in the fifth round, 149th overall by the Vancouver Canucks in the 2015 NHL Draft and has played in four games with the team since he signed his entry-level contract back on Mar. 26.


Gaudette joins Andy Miele as the two former RoughRiders to capture college hockey's top honor. He was among three finalists for the award, including Harvard University's Ryan Donato (Team USA), who is now with the Boston Bruins.


2018 marks the 10th time overall and the seventh time in the past eight years that a USHL alum has won the Hobey Baker Award. 


USHL Alumni Hobey Baker Winners

2018 - Adam Gaudette, Northeastern University (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, 2014-15)

2017 - Will Butcher, University of Denver (Dubuque Fighting Saints/Team USA, 2010-13)

2015 – Jack Eichel, Boston University (Team USA, 2012-14)

2014 – Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College (Dubuque Fighting Saints, 2010-11)

2013 – Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State University (Chicago Steel, 2006-08)

2012 – Jack Connolly, University of Minnesota-Duluth (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2007-08)

2011 – Andy Miele, Miami University (Chicago Steel/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, 2005-08)

2006 – Matt Carle, University of Denver (Omaha Lancers, 2002-03)

2005 – Marty Sertich, Colorado College (Sioux Falls Stampede, 2001-02)

2003 – Peter Sejna, Colorado College (Des Moines Buccaneers, 1998-2000)

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 16th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2017-18. 30 or more players from the USHL have been selected in five consecutive NHL Drafts, and more than 400 players on team rosters last season committed to NCAA Division I schools, further establishing the USHL as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.

Tag(s): Recaps