skip navigation

Curt Hammer Award

USHL Curt Hammer Award

The Curt Hammer Award has been presented annually since the 1988-89 season in honor of the late Curt Hammer, and recognizes the USHL player who distinguishes himself both on and off the ice by demonstrating outstanding performance skills, pride, and determination.  The award is given in memory of the late Curt Hammer, who served as president of the Des Moines Buccaneers for three seasons (1984-87) and also held the role of secretary for the USHL.  Hammer, a dedicated volunteer and supporter of hockey in the Des Moines community until succumbing to cancer in 1987, was one of the founders Hart-Hammer, Inc., a commercial heating and air conditioning ventilation equipment sales firm.  The company still operates today providing extensive sales and engineering support in Iowa, Nebraska, and western Illinois.  The award was established to honor his commitment to the League and the perseverance he displayed in continuing his work through hockey while battling the illness.

Year Name Team
2020-21 Will Dineen Sioux Falls Stampede
2019-20 Aidan Fulp Dubuque Fighting Saints
2018-19 Liam Walsh Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2017-18 Marc McLaughlin Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2016-17 Logan Halladay Bloomington Thunder
Riese Zmolek Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2015-16 Tory Dello Tri-City Storm
2014-15 Matt Mendelson Bloomington Thunder
2013-14 Garrett Gamez Tri-City Storm
2012-13 Ryan Siiro Sioux Falls Stampede
2011-12 Mike Ambrosia Youngstown Phantoms
2010-11 Tommy Olczyk Sioux City Musketeers
2009-10 Derek Arnold Waterloo Black Hawks
2008-09 Mike Walsh Chicago Steel
2007-08 Joey Miller Sioux City Musketeers
2006-07 Zach Redmond Sioux Falls Stampede
2005-06 Trevor Lewis Des Moines Buccaneers
2004-05 Christian Hanson Tri-City Storm
2003-04 Topher Scott Chicago Steel
2002-03 Jake Taylor Green Bay Gamblers
2001-02 Nick Anderson Chicago Steel
2000-01 Corey McLean Chicago Steel
1999-00 Aaron Gill Rochester Mustangs
1998-99 Noah Clarke Des Moines Buccaneers
1997-98 Shaun Winkler North Iowa Huskies
1996-97 Mark Eaton Waterloo Black Hawks
1995-96 Jeremy Bautch Rochester Mustangs
1994-95 Brad Frattaroli Des Moines Buccaneers
1993-94 Nick Krueger Des Moines Buccaneers
1992-93 Eric Rud Des Moines Buccaneers
1991-92 Mike Figliomeni Thunder Bay Flyers
1990-91 Brent Cary Omaha Lancers
Beau Bilek Des Moines Buccaneers
1989-90 Sean Marson Sioux City Musketeers
1988-89 Jay Ness Rochester Mustangs

Will Dineen, Sioux Falls Stampede